LASUED Gets NUC Accreditation for 66 Programmes

LASUED Gets NUC Accreditation for 66 Programmes

The National Universities Commission (NUC) approved 66 new academic programmes for Lagos State University of Education (LASUED).

Around 7,000 students applied to LASUED, but NUC hasn't released the university's carrying capacity.

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has approved 66 new academic programmes for the Lagos State University of Education (LASUED) in advance of the university’s first undergraduate students’ admission.

Prof. B.B. Lafiaji-Okuneye, Acting Vice Chancellor of LASUED, announced this at the first meeting of the senate, which was inaugurated by the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Governing Council, Alhaji Sekinat Yusuf, at the main campus Oto/Ijanikin.

She recalled that a panel of NUC experts conducted a resource verification exercise on the proposed 67 academic programmes from September 19th to September 30th, 2022.

“It is my pleasure to notify the Senate that the Superintendent Body has approved the formation of the full-time mode of undergraduate programmes to be offered by the university beginning with the 2022/2022 academic session,” the acting VC added.

Prof. Lafiaji-Okuneye went on to say that Civic Education was rejected since there is no Bench Mark Academic Standard for the course.

The acting VC stated that with the favourable development, all eyes are on the Senate for action, emphasising the importance of the key meeting.

“The race had started beautifully, and the batons were accurately transferred,” she said, “and now it is the turn of the Senate to gallantly run the race to the tape.”

“With the pedigree of the members of this Senate, I have no doubt that our vision of taking the lead in the teacher education sector within the shortest period possible is just a question of time.”

She said that around 7,000 students sought for admission to LASUED but highlighted that the NUC has not released the university’s carrying capacity, adding, “given people and infrastructure, we can handle more students.”

Prof. Lafiaji-Okuneye stated that the institution hit the ground running with the presentation of the certificate of recognition to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu on February 8th, 2022.

The acting VC went on to say that LASUED took part in the 2022/2023 Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) admissions process.

According to her, a retreat and training for principal officers and other important stakeholders were scheduled, and personnel placement was done correctly.

Alhaja Sekinat Yusuf, Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Governing Council at LASUED, described the event as historic in the university’s history.

The ceremony, she continued, attests to the expanding profile of a trailblazing institution set to foster excellence and moral consciousness among the teeming adolescents.

“Today, we are setting the groundwork for a structure that will stand the test of time, and it is encouraging to see that you are a part of it,” she said.

Yusuf stated that Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu commitment to provide quality higher education services in the state is unshakeable.

She remarked that membership in the university senate would allow them to contribute to the success of the historic initiative and have their names engraved in gold.

Yusuf reminded the Senate that their role includes establishing academic regulations for student conduct and discipline, admissions, examinations, teaching and research quality, and other matters affecting the university.

She stated that numerous candidates have expressed interest in studying at LASUED, but that “admissions of these young boys and girls are pending because the senate has yet to determine the norms and regulations.” With the inauguration of the Senate, I anticipate that actions will be expedited.”

The council chairman asked the Senate to work with the governing council to propel the fledgling university to greater heights.

The LASUED Senate is comprised of the acting VC as chairman, the Registrar as Secretary, the acting deputy VC, 29 heads of department, seven deans, six directors, and nine visiting professors.

Post a Comment